McNair/Gateway Scholars Program USC

2011 Latest McNair Scholar Achievements

Please join us in congratulating these outstanding USC McNair Scholars. These students have been published, selected to present their research at regional and national conferences, and received awards and grants. Please visit this page again as we will continue highlighting McNair Scholar achievements.
  • Mariah Gill, Evelyn Larios, Bertrand Perdomo, Rahel Gabreyes, Phuong (Harmony) Huynh, Christina Wilkerson, Charnan Williams, and Abel Delgado were selected to present their research at the UC Berkeley McNair Scholars Symposium (national-level conference).
  • Andrea Porter, LaTarrell Brown, Javier Sotelo, Christelle Williams, Carmina Gomez, and Juan Espinoza were selected to present their research at the Claremont Graduate University McNair Conference (national-level conference).
  • Reza Ghassemi co-authored "Transitioning to Integrated Project Delivery: Potential barriers and lessons learned " and was published in Lean Construction Journal.
  • Victor Paredes-Colonia & Silvia Green received the Dr. John R. Hubbard, Special Recognition Award for outstanding Latino students who exemplify a strong academic background, extracurricular involvement, and community service experience.
  • Jonathan Truong selected to participate in the Public Policy & International Affairs Fellowship Program in Ann Arbor, Michigan during summer 2011.
  • Ashley Williams presented research entitled "Connecting Network News to the College Aspirations of Minority High School Students" at the 8th Annual Yale Bouchet Conference on Diversity in Graduate Education on March 26, 2011 at Yale University.
  • Ashley Williams named National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) Student Journalist of the Year.
  • Peggy Weng, along with her faculty advisor, is in process of publishing research in a peer-reviewed journal (details forthcoming)
  • Daniel Rios selected for a Leadership Alliance-sponsored summer research program at Stanford University.
  • John Hernandez received financial support from the USC Rossier School of Education to engage in research at USC.
  • Daniel Wu received the 2011 USC University Trustees Award at the USC 30th Annual Academic Honors Convocation on April 6, 2011, awarded to the two seniors with the highest cumulative GPA.
  • Daniel Wu selected as 2011 Discovery Scholar, honoring his creative and scholarly endeavors.
  • Daniel Wu published "Reimagining the Figueroa Corridor, 1960-2005" in Race, Class Gender, Vol. 18, 2011.
  • Daniel Wu selected as a 2011 Fulbright Research Fellow, Finland (declined offer).
  • Evelyn Larios presented her research entitled "The Underlying Power of Union Memberships in Schools" at the 2011 Pacific Sociological Association Conference on March 11, 2011 in Seattle, Washington.
  • Monika Langarica received the Phi Kappa Phi Student Recognition Award at the USC 30th Annual Academic Honors Convocation on April 6, 2011.
  • Bernadette Gholami recognized and published in the USC Center for Feminist Research newsletter.
  • Bernadette Gholami & Bertrand Perdomo-Ucles received the Ron McDuffie Award from the USC Norman Topping Student Aid Fund given to students who have have demonstrated scholarship, leadership, or service to the University or surrounding community.
  • Luis Rico accepted to conduct research abroad in Africa, Ghana.
  • Erin Lee selected by USC Professor Michel Baudry to continue her research during summer 2011.
  • Jorge Rodriguez co-authored "Concentration Dependence of NaCl ion distributions around DPPC lipid bilayers". To be published in an upcoming issue of Interdisciplinary Sciences: Computational Life Sciences.
  • Monika Langarica & Syliva Green nominated as 2011 Discovery Scholars.
  • Monika Langarica awarded Latina of the Year from the USC Latina(o) Student Assembly.
  • Kim Vu received two scholarships from TURF and NTSAF to conduct research in Genoa, Italy during summer 2011.
  • Rebecca Das presented her McNair research at the Queer Horizons Conference at Stanford.
  • Rebecca Das was nne of two inaugural fellows with the USC Academy for Polymathic Study